Amazon Product Video Requirements
The short answer: the Amazon product video requirements you can actually source come down to four lines on one Amazon-operated page, covering shoppable videos on detail pages — .mov or .mp4, up to 1080p, maximum 5 GB, and a length of between 1 and 12 minutes (sell.amazon.com, published 2025-05-12, read 2026-08-24). Almost every other number you will find is real but attached to a different surface. 500 MB is Amazon Ads’ limit for Sponsored Brands video creative. 2 GB could not be traced to any Amazon page. 1280 x 720 and 16:9 are published for video ads, not for listing videos. The reason the internet cannot agree on one file-size limit is that there is no single limit — there are at least three video pipelines at Amazon, each with its own ceiling, and blog posts have been merging them for years.
How this page was built. Every figure below is labelled with the page it came from and the date it was read. Where a number circulates without an Amazon source, this page says so instead of picking a winner. Where the specification lives behind a Seller Central login and cannot be read publicly, this page says that too rather than repeating someone else’s copy of it. Amazon changes these values without announcements, so the upload screen in front of you always outranks any article, including this one.
Amazon Product Video Requirements: What Amazon Itself Publishes
There is exactly one Amazon-operated page in the public web that states listing-video file specifications in a form you can quote: the seller-education article at sell.amazon.com, published 2025-05-12 and read on 2026-08-24. Its “File specifications” block reads, verbatim:
| Field | Amazon’s wording |
|---|---|
| Formats | “In .mov or .mp4 format” |
| Resolution | “Up to 1080p—highest available quality recommended” |
| File size | “Maximum 5 GB” |
| Length | “Between 1 and 12 minutes” |
| Thumbnails | “System-generated or custom—.jpg, .png, .gif, or .bmp format under 5 GB” |
Four things about that table are worth pausing on, because they are the parts that get lost when the numbers are re-typed elsewhere.
There is no stated minimum resolution. Amazon caps the useful ceiling at 1080p and asks for the highest available quality. It does not say your file must be at least 720p, and it does not name an aspect ratio anywhere on the page. Every “minimum 1280 x 720” claim you have read about listing videos is an import from a different specification.
The length floor is one minute, not thirty seconds. This is the single biggest discrepancy on the open web and it is covered in its own section below.
The thumbnail rule is separate and generous. Four raster formats are accepted, including .gif and .bmp, and the size ceiling is the same 5 GB. A thumbnail is auto-generated if you supply nothing; the upload flow lets you replace it.
The 5 GB ceiling is a container limit, not a quality target. At 1080p, a twelve-minute H.264 export at a sane bitrate lands somewhere in the low hundreds of megabytes. If your file is approaching 5 GB you are almost certainly exporting a mezzanine-grade master, not a delivery file, and Amazon will re-encode it anyway.
Alongside the file specs, the same page states the operational rules that decide whether anyone ever sees the video:
- “You can add up to 4 shoppable videos to any ASIN.”
- “For shoppable videos to appear in the main media block of product detail pages, the product must have fewer than six images.”
- “The most recently uploaded video gets priority in the display order.”
- “Videos typically appear within three days after approval.” During holiday seasons, “review times may reach seven business days.”
That second bullet is the one that silently costs sellers their video placement. A listing with six or more images pushes the video out of the top media block and down to the videos section below the fold. That is a direct trade-off between image slot count and video prominence, and it is stated nowhere in the specs everyone quotes. If you are auditing image slots anyway, the Amazon listing image audit checklist walks the slot-by-slot pass; add “does this ASIN have six or more images and a video I want in the hero block?” to it.
The upload path itself, per the same page: Seller Central main menu → Catalog → Upload and Manage Videos → Upload video, then fill in title, the ASINs the video should attach to, a video type (troubleshooting, brand story, or other), brand association, video language, and the thumbnail. The Image Manager offers a second route to the same job.
The File-Size Question: 2 GB vs 500 MB vs 5 GB
Search for Amazon’s video file-size limit and you will be handed three different answers inside the first page of results, all stated with equal confidence. Here is every number this page could find, with the source and the date it was read on 2026-08-24:
| Source | Stated max file size | What it says the number is for | Source date |
|---|---|---|---|
| sell.amazon.com (Amazon-operated) | 5 GB | Shoppable product videos on detail pages | Published 2025-05-12 |
| advertising.amazon.com (Amazon-operated) | 500 MB | Sponsored Brands video creative | No date shown on page |
| advertising.amazon.com (Amazon-operated) | 500 MB | Responsive eCommerce creative, video format | No date shown on page |
| Goat Consulting | 5 GB (detail page) / 500 MB (Sponsored Brands) | Both, correctly separated | Updated 2026-04-09 |
| BlueTuskr | 5 GB | “Product listing” video | Published 2023-04-26 |
| eComEngine | “under 5 GB” | Third-party seller product videos | Updated 2024-05-09 (first published 2020-09-16) |
| Emplicit | 500 MB | Labelled “product videos” | Published 2025-08-16 |
| amAlert | “usually 2 GB for Amazon listings” | Seller Central product video upload | No date shown on page |
Read the table by column and the “contradiction” mostly dissolves:
5 GB and 500 MB are both correct, for different pipelines. A shoppable video attached to an ASIN goes through Seller Central’s video uploader; an ad creative goes through the Amazon Ads console. They are separate ingestion paths with separate ceilings, and Amazon publishes both. The confusion is not Amazon’s — it comes from writers who treat “Amazon video” as one thing. Emplicit’s 500 MB is not wrong as a number; it is filed under a heading (“Product videos”) that makes it read as the listing limit.
The 2 GB figure has no traceable Amazon source. It appears in a third-party how-to, hedged with the word “usually”, and no Amazon page reachable without a login states it. It is not being called a fabrication here — an upload widget may well have enforced 2 GB at some point, or in some marketplace, or for some account type. But it cannot be sourced, so it should not be planned around.
Dates matter more than the numbers. The oldest entry in that table was first published in 2020 and last touched in 2024. Amazon’s own page is from 2025. A 2026 seller reading a 2020 post is not reading a wrong specification so much as an expired one, and almost none of these pages date their individual claims — only the article as a whole.
One source could not be read at all: The Spark House’s video requirements guide, which ranks prominently for this query, returned HTTP 403 Forbidden to an automated request on 2026-08-24. Its numbers are therefore absent from the table above rather than paraphrased from a search snippet.
Where the 500 MB Number Actually Lives: Sponsored Brands Video
Amazon Ads publishes a complete, quotable specification for Sponsored Brands video creative. Unlike the listing-video page, this one is exhaustive — and it is the origin of most of the technical detail that gets misattributed to listing videos. Read from advertising.amazon.com on 2026-08-24; the page carries no last-updated stamp.
| Attribute | Amazon Ads’ wording |
|---|---|
| Video dimensions | “1280x720, 1920x1080, or 3840x2160px” |
| Aspect ratio | “16:9 (square pixel) only” |
| File size | “500MB or less” |
| File format | “.MP4 or .MOV” |
| Video length | “Between 6 and 45 seconds (20 secs or less highly recommended)” |
| Video codec | “H.264 or H.265” |
| Frame rate | “23.976, 23.98, 24, 25, 29.97, 29.98, or 30fps” |
| Video bit rate | “Minimum 1 Mbps (4 Mbps or higher recommended)” |
| Audio codec | “PCM, AAC, or MP3” |
| Audio bit rate | “Minimum 96 kbps” |
| Audio sample rate | “Minimum 44.1khz” |
| Audio format | “Stereo or mono” |
The same page adds two creative constraints with real teeth: avoid videos with “horizontal or vertical black, color, or blurred bars” — letterboxed and pillarboxed exports get rejected — and avoid placing text or other important information in the lower right corner, where the interface overlays it.
One live discrepancy is worth flagging rather than smoothing over. Goat Consulting’s guide (updated 2026-04-09) lists vertical Sponsored Brands dimensions — “720 x 1280, 1080 x 1920, or 2160 x 3840” at 9:16 — alongside the horizontal set. The Amazon Ads specification page read on 2026-08-24 said “16:9 (square pixel) only” and showed no vertical option. Both can be true, and Amazon Ads’ own newsroom says why: an announcement page at advertising.amazon.com dated 2024-02-14 introduces vertical video creative for Sponsored Brands, available when the campaign sends traffic to a Store landing page and the advertiser has chosen the drive-store-visits objective — not for campaigns landing on a product detail page. So vertical Sponsored Brands creative is real and Amazon-sanctioned; it simply belongs to a narrower console path than the general ad-specs page covers, and the exact pixel dimensions quoted by third parties are still worth confirming there. If you need vertical, check that your campaign matches that combination in the builder for your own marketplace before you commission the shoot.
Where “1280 x 720”, “16:9” and “192 kbps Stereo” Came From
Three specifications follow Amazon seller content around like folklore: a 1280 x 720 minimum, a 16:9 requirement, and stereo audio at 192 kbps. None of them appear on Amazon’s listing-video page. Two of the three can be traced to real Amazon documents about entirely different programs.
1280 x 720 and 16:9 are, as shown above, the Sponsored Brands video specification. They are published by Amazon, they are current, and they simply do not govern the video you attach to an ASIN.
192 kbps stereo audio almost certainly leaks in from Prime Video. Amazon’s Video Central support site publishes mezzanine delivery requirements for Prime Video titles, and its “Embedded audio specifications” block is not a single list — it is a table with one column per audio codec, each with its own minimum bit rate. Its stereo and 5.1 floors run: PCM (LPCM) “Lossless”; MPEG-2 Layer II “ST:384k / 5.1:912k”; AC-3 “ST:192k / 5.1:448k”; AAC “ST:448k / 5.1:960k”. The “192k” that travels around seller blogs is the AC-3 stereo cell of that table — one codec’s floor, not a general Amazon audio rule, and not a range that climbs from 192k to 960k as it is usually retold. If anything, the codec closest to a seller’s .mp4 export is AAC, and that column floors stereo at 448k. The same document sets the HD video floor at “at least 1280 pixels horizontally or at least 720 pixels vertically” — the other half of the folklore. Read on 2026-08-24, that page is explicitly about full-title delivery by contract and self-service publishing partners. It has nothing to do with seller listings, and it states no file-size or duration limit at all.
So the practical picture is: a spec written for feature-length Prime Video masters and a spec written for 6-to-45-second ad creative have been quietly blended into a “listing video requirements” checklist that Amazon never published. The blended checklist is not harmful — 1080p, 16:9, AAC stereo at 192 kbps is a perfectly good export preset for a product video — but it should be understood as sensible production defaults, not as rules Amazon will reject your file for breaking.
The Length Discrepancy: 1–12 Minutes vs 30 Seconds–15 Minutes
This is the cleanest example of a number that survives purely by repetition.
Amazon’s page, read 2026-08-24: “Length: Between 1 and 12 minutes.”
The figure repeated across agency blogs since at least 2023: “between 30 seconds to 15 minutes.” BlueTuskr (2023-04-26) states it in those words. It resurfaces in AI-generated summaries of this query, because the volume of pages repeating it exceeds the single Amazon page that contradicts it.
Neither the floor nor the ceiling matches. That means one of three things is true: Amazon changed the limits between the 2023 posts and the 2025 page and nobody updated; the older figure came from a Seller Central help article that has since been revised; or the older figure was never sourced. There is no way to settle it from outside the login, and this page is not going to invent an answer.
What you can do is plan so that the discrepancy never matters:
- Stay between 1 and 12 minutes and you satisfy both versions of the rule simultaneously. This is free — almost no product video should be shorter than 60 seconds or longer than three minutes anyway.
- If you genuinely need a sub-60-second cut — a fast feature loop, a size-comparison clip — upload it and read what the uploader says. If it rejects the file, the 1-minute floor is live. If it accepts it, the older figure survived a spec revision.
- Never build a 13-to-15-minute asset on the strength of a blog post. The downside is a rejected upload and a re-edit; the upside is nothing, because watch-through on a fifteen-minute product video is negligible.
Amazon’s stated review window applies either way: approximately three days, stretching to “seven business days” in holiday season.
A+ Content Video: Where the Public Record Runs Out
Seller blogs publish A+ Content video limits with the same confidence as everything else: 500 MB per module, 300 MB in some tellings, a minimum of 960 x 540 for the full-video module and 800 x 600 for the video-with-text and video-carousel modules, two-minute or twenty-four-minute ceilings depending on who is writing.
On 2026-08-24, none of those figures could be reproduced from an Amazon page readable without a login. The A+ module specifications live inside the A+ Content builder in Seller Central, which is authenticated. That is a known boundary, not an oversight, and the honest thing to write is that the numbers above are third-party claims of varying age with no public Amazon source attached.
The practical consequence is small, because the A+ builder tells you the limit at the moment you drag a file in — per module, for the module you actually selected. Treat the builder’s own message as authoritative and the blog figures as a rough expectation of magnitude.
If you are structuring A+ modules and want to see how competitors sequence video against copy, the method is in A+ content competitor research — which is about reading module architecture, not lifting assets.
The Consolidated Spec Table
Everything above, in one place. The confidence column is the point: it tells you which cells you can build a production brief on and which ones need confirming in your own console.
| Specification | Listing (shoppable) video | Sponsored Brands video | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Max file size | 5 GB | 500 MB | Both from Amazon pages, read 2026-08-24 |
| Length | 1 to 12 minutes | 6 to 45 seconds | Both from Amazon pages; listing figure contradicted by older third-party posts |
| File format | .mov / .mp4 | .MP4 / .MOV | Both from Amazon pages |
| Resolution | “Up to 1080p”, no floor stated | 1280x720 / 1920x1080 / 3840x2160 | Both from Amazon pages |
| Aspect ratio | Not stated by Amazon | 16:9 square pixel only | Listing row is an absence, not a permission |
| Video codec | Not stated by Amazon | H.264 or H.265 | Ads row from Amazon; listing row unpublished |
| Frame rate | Not stated by Amazon | 23.976–30 fps, enumerated list | Ads row from Amazon; listing row unpublished |
| Audio | Not stated by Amazon | PCM/AAC/MP3, min 96 kbps, min 44.1 kHz, stereo or mono | Ads row from Amazon; listing row unpublished |
| Thumbnail | .jpg / .png / .gif / .bmp, under 5 GB | Not applicable | From Amazon page |
| Quantity | Up to 4 per ASIN | Per campaign | From Amazon page |
| Placement condition | Hero media block requires fewer than 6 images | Not applicable | From Amazon page |
The rows that read “Not stated by Amazon” are the useful ones. They are not gaps in this research; they are gaps in Amazon’s public documentation, and they are exactly where third-party guides quietly substitute a number from the ads spec so the table looks complete. A table with honest blanks is more useful than a full table with imported cells.
For the image side of the same listing — where Amazon does publish a detailed public specification, including the 1,000-pixel zoom threshold and the 85% frame-fill rule — see Amazon product image size requirements .
Before You Shoot: Audit What the Category Already Ships
Specs tell you what will upload. They tell you nothing about what will convert. The fastest way to close that gap is to look at what the top ten ASINs in your category actually shipped: how long their videos run, whether the first three seconds work with sound off, whether they lead with the product in hand or a title card, and how many image slots they gave up to keep the video in the hero block.
That means pulling the media down and reviewing it side by side rather than scrubbing ten detail pages in ten tabs. The browser extension ASINCrate handles that step: it captures the listing’s HLS video stream and converts it to MP4 at up to 1080p, and exports the full image gallery at the highest resolution available into one ZIP organized by variant and image type. Processing happens locally in the browser, and it works across 15+ Amazon marketplaces, which matters if you are comparing how the same product is merchandised on amazon.com versus amazon.de. The mechanics — including the manual DevTools plus ffmpeg route, if you would rather not install anything — are documented in how to download Amazon product videos .
Two boundaries, stated plainly because they are this site’s standing position:
Competitor video is for study, not reuse. Analysing a rival’s pacing, hook structure, on-screen text sizing and shot list is ordinary market research; the framework for doing it in ninety seconds per video is in the download guide linked above, and the image-side equivalent is Amazon competitor image analysis . Re-cutting someone else’s footage into your own listing video is a copyright problem and a complaint waiting to happen.
Your own back catalogue is the other easy win. Sellers routinely lose the master files for videos uploaded three years ago through an agency that no longer answers email. The delivery copy on your own live listing is recoverable; the master usually is not. Pulling your existing listing videos down before you brief a refresh gives the editor a reference cut and gives you a before-and-after.
When the Numbers Disagree, the Uploader Wins
The method that survives Amazon changing its mind, which it does without notice:
- Treat the upload screen as the only live specification. Every article about Amazon’s video limits, this one included, is a snapshot of pages read on a particular date. The uploader is the running system. If it says 500 MB and this page says 5 GB, it is 500 MB for your account, in your marketplace, today.
- Export to the intersection, not to the ceiling. A 1080p, 16:9, H.264 file at 4 Mbps with AAC stereo audio, running between 60 seconds and 3 minutes, satisfies every specification quoted on this page at the same time — the listing rules, the ads rules, and the folklore. There is no reason to sit near any limit.
- Keep one master, deliver many cuts. The same shoot yields a 90-second listing video, a 20-second Sponsored Brands cut, and an A+ module clip. The three surfaces have three different ceilings; a single mastering session with three exports is cheaper than three shoots.
- Date every spec you write down internally. If your team keeps a production brief with Amazon’s limits in it, put the read date next to each number. That is the discipline this entire page is built on, and it is the reason a 2020 blog post is still telling people about a limit that may not have existed since.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the maximum file size for an Amazon product video?
Amazon’s own seller page states “File size: Maximum 5 GB” for shoppable product videos (sell.amazon.com, published 2025-05-12, read 2026-08-24). The competing 500 MB figure is real but belongs to a different surface: Amazon Ads publishes “500MB or less” for Sponsored Brands video creative. The 2 GB figure appears in third-party posts without an Amazon source behind it and could not be traced to any Amazon page on 2026-08-24.
How long can an Amazon product video be?
Amazon’s seller page states “Length: Between 1 and 12 minutes” (published 2025-05-12, read 2026-08-24). The widely repeated “30 seconds to 15 minutes” does not match that page — it circulates across agency blogs dated 2023 onward with no Amazon URL attached. Sponsored Brands video is a separate specification: “Between 6 and 45 seconds (20 secs or less highly recommended)” per Amazon Ads.
What video formats does Amazon accept?
For shoppable listing videos, Amazon states “Formats: In .mov or .mp4 format” and “Resolution: Up to 1080p—highest available quality recommended” (sell.amazon.com, read 2026-08-24). Amazon Ads lists “.MP4 or .MOV” for Sponsored Brands video, with H.264 or H.265 as the accepted video codecs.
Does Amazon require 1280 x 720 and 16:9 for listing videos?
Amazon’s seller page does not state a minimum resolution or an aspect ratio for shoppable listing videos — it caps quality at 1080p and says nothing about frame shape. The “1280 x 720 minimum, 16:9” pairing is published by Amazon Ads for Sponsored Brands video, which lists “1280x720, 1920x1080, or 3840x2160px” and “16:9 (square pixel) only”. Treat 16:9 at 1080p as sound production practice for listings, not as a published listing rule.
How many videos can I add to one ASIN?
Amazon states “You can add up to 4 shoppable videos to any ASIN” (sell.amazon.com, read 2026-08-24). The same page adds a display condition that catches sellers by surprise: for a shoppable video to appear in the main media block at the top of the detail page, “the product must have fewer than six images.” The most recently uploaded video gets display priority.
Where do the A+ Content video specs come from?
Not from any Amazon page that can be read without a login. The A+ module limits repeated across seller blogs — 500 MB, 300 MB, minimum 960 x 540, two-minute ceilings — appear in third-party guides but were not reproducible from a public Amazon URL on 2026-08-24, because A+ module specs live inside the Seller Central A+ builder behind authentication. Use the limit the builder shows you at upload time and treat the blog numbers as unverified.
Conclusion
The reason “Amazon product video requirements” has no clean answer on the open web is that the question conflates at least three Amazon systems: the Seller Central video uploader (5 GB, 1–12 minutes, .mov/.mp4, up to 1080p), the Amazon Ads console (500 MB, 6–45 seconds, fully enumerated codecs and audio), and — bleeding in from a completely unrelated program — Prime Video’s mezzanine delivery requirements. Separate them and the contradictions mostly resolve; the residue that does not resolve is the 30-seconds-to-15-minutes length claim and the untraceable 2 GB ceiling, both of which are safest handled by simply not building assets near those edges.
Export at 1080p, 16:9, H.264, AAC stereo, between one and three minutes, under 500 MB. That file uploads everywhere Amazon will take a video, and no future spec revision on any of the three surfaces is likely to break it.
See what the competition already ships
Install ASINCrate to pull a listing's full image and video gallery — every variant, at the highest resolution available — as one organized ZIP before you brief your next video.
Add to Chrome — FreeRelated Articles
How to Download Amazon Product Videos: HLS, Tokens & 3 Methods
Amazon's video stack decoded — HLS vs DASH, signed token URLs, m3u8 anatomy — plus 3 download methods compared for sellers.
Amazon Product Image Size Requirements: The Complete Spec Guide
Every Amazon image spec in one table — pixel sizes, the 1000px zoom threshold, formats, main-image white-background rules and the fixes for the six most common rejections.
Amazon Competitor Image Analysis: The Complete Seller Workflow
Collect every competitor image — gallery, variants, A+, review photos — score them on 7 dimensions, and turn findings into a better listing.
Amazon Listing Image Audit: The 13-Point Checklist
A dedicated image audit: 13 checkpoints from main-image CTR to review-photo contradictions, with severity scoring and a fix order.